Mayotte is an insular department and region of France officially named Département de Mayotte. It consists of a main island, Grande-Terre, a smaller island, Petite-Terre, and several islets around these two. The archipelago is located in the northern Mozambique Channel in the Indian Ocean off the coast of Southeast Africa, between northwestern Madagascar and northeastern Mozambique. Mayotte's area is 374 square kilometres and, with its 212,645 people, is very densely populated at 569 per km². The biggest city and prefecture is Mamoudzou on Grande-Terre. However, the Dzaoudzi–Pamandzi International Airport is located on the neighbouring island of Petite-Terre. The territory is geographically part of the Comoro Islands. The territory is also known as Maore, the native name of its main island, especially by advocates of its inclusion in the Union of Comoros.

Other countries and territories of the World

Geographical values

  • absolute in degrees, minutes and seconds:
    12° 46′ 44″ S • of southern latitude
    45° 13′ 23″ E • of eastern longitude
  • in degrees with decimal fractions:
    −12.778891°; 45.223123°

Length of Mayotte from south to north is 78.409 kilometers, from west ot east – from 65.524 km on south to 65.710 km on north.

State symbols

Flag of Mayotte
Flag of Mayotte
Coat of arms, seal, symbol, emblem of Mayotte
Coat of arms of Mayotte

Guess country by flag and by coat of arms 🎲

Major cities


Nearby photos

Photos of Mayotte taken from Google Maps. Press on icon for load all photos. Press „Abuse“, if the image is not corresponds to reality. Did not found suitable photo – use panorama from Yandex or Google.

Exterior (outside view)


Videos of Mayotte taken from YouTube. Press on cover to start playing the video.

Comments reviews, questions and answers

Ask in chat