Wallis and Futuna

Wallis and Futuna, officially the Territory of the Wallis and Futuna Islands, is a French island collectivity in the South Pacific between Tuvalu to the northwest, Fiji to the southwest, Tonga to the southeast, Samoa to the east, and Tokelau to the northeast. Its land area is 142.42 sq km with a population of 11,558 at the 2018 census. Matā'Utu is the capital and biggest city. The territory is made up of three main volcanic tropical islands along with a number of tiny islets, and is split into two island groups that lie about 260 km apart, namely the Wallis Islands in the northeast, and the Hoorn Islands, also known as the Futuna Islands, in the southwest, including Futuna Island proper and the mostly uninhabited Alofi Island.

Other countries and territories of the World

Geographical values

  • absolute in degrees, minutes and seconds:
    13° 16′ 57″ S • of southern latitude
    176° 10′ 37″ W • of western longitude
  • in degrees with decimal fractions:
    −13.282379°; −176.176839°

Length of Wallis and Futuna from south to north is 172.584 kilometers, from west ot east – from 264.594 km on south to 266.360 km on north.

State symbols

Flag of Wallis and Futuna
Flag of Wallis and Futuna
Coat of arms, seal, symbol, emblem of Wallis and Futuna
Coat of arms of Wallis and Futuna

Guess country by flag and by coat of arms 🎲

Major cities

Mata Utu0189

Nearby photos

Photos of Wallis and Futuna taken from Google Maps. Press on icon for load all photos. Press „Abuse“, if the image is not corresponds to reality. Did not found suitable photo – use panorama from Yandex or Google.

Exterior (outside view)

Interior (inside view)

Comments reviews, questions and answers

Ask in chat