Tokelau, previously known as the Union Islands, and officially as Tokelau Islands until 1976 is a dependent territory of New Zealand in the southern Pacific Ocean. It consists of three tropical coral atolls, with a combined land area of 10 sq km. The capital rotates yearly among the three atolls. Tokelau lies north of the Samoan Islands, east of Tuvalu, south of the Phoenix Islands, southwest of the more distant Line Islands, and northwest of the Cook Islands. Swains Island is geographically part of Tokelau, but is subject to an ongoing territorial dispute and is currently administered by the United States as part of American Samoa.

Other countries and territories of the World

Geographical values

  • absolute in degrees, minutes and seconds:
    8° 33′ 6″ S • of southern latitude
    172° 30′ 3″ W • of western longitude
  • in degrees with decimal fractions:
    −8.551667°; −172.500833°

Length of Tokelau from south to north is 138.337 kilometers, from west ot east – from 189.930 km on south to 190.583 km on north.

State symbols

Flag of Tokelau
Flag of Tokelau
Coat of arms, seal, symbol, emblem of Tokelau
Coat of arms of Tokelau

Guess country by flag and by coat of arms 🎲

Major cities


Comments reviews, questions and answers

Ask in chat