French Southern Lands

The French Southern and Antarctic Lands, or TAAF is an overseas territory of France. It consists of: The territory is sometimes referred to as the French Southern Lands or French Southern Territories, usually to emphasize non-recognition of French sovereignty over Adélie Land as part of the Antarctic Treaty system. Approximately 150 to 310 persons live in the French Southern and Antarctic Lands but they are only military personnel, officials, scientific researchers and support staff. The territory has legally no permanent civilian population. On July 5, 2019, the French Austral Lands and Seas were inscribed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

Other countries and territories of the World

Geographical values

  • absolute in degrees, minutes and seconds:
    49° 19′ 29″ S • of southern latitude
    69° 30′ 38″ E • of eastern longitude
  • in degrees with decimal fractions:
    −49.324643°; 69.510523°

Length of French Southern Lands from south to north is 1,465.675 kilometers, from west ot east – from 1,989.875 km on south to 2,477.627 km on north.

State symbols

Flag of French Southern Lands
Flag of French Southern Lands
Coat of arms, seal, symbol, emblem of French Southern Lands
Coat of arms of French Southern Lands

Guess country by flag and by coat of arms 🎲

Major cities


Comments reviews, questions and answers

Ask in chat