Swaziland, officially the Kingdom of Swaziland; sometimes called kaNgwane or Eswatini, is a sovereign state in Southern Africa. It is neighboured by Mozambique to its northeast and by South Africa to its north, west and south. The country and its people take their names from Mswati II, the 19th-century king under whose rule Swazi territory was expanded and unified. At no more than 200 kilometres north to south and 130 kilometres east to west, Swaziland is one of the smallest countries in Africa. Despite its size, however, its climate and topography are diverse, ranging from a cool and mountainous highveld to a hot and dry lowveld. The population is primarily ethnic Swazis whose language is Swati. They established their kingdom in the mid-18th century under the leadership of Ngwane III; the present boundaries were drawn up in 1881. After the Anglo-Boer War, Swaziland was a British protectorate from 1903 until 1967. It regained its independence on 6 September 1968.

Other countries and territories of the World

Geographical values

  • absolute in degrees, minutes and seconds:
    26° 19′ 35″ S • of southern latitude
    31° 8′ 39″ E • of eastern longitude
  • in degrees with decimal fractions:
    −26.326486°; 31.144160°

Length of Eswatini from south to north is 177.523 kilometers, from west ot east – from 132.791 km on south to 134.651 km on north.

State symbols

Flag of Eswatini
Flag of Eswatini
Coat of arms, seal, symbol, emblem of Eswatini
Coat of arms of Eswatini

Guess country by flag and by coat of arms 🎲

Major cities


Nearby photos

Photos of Eswatini taken from Google Maps. Press on icon for load all photos. Press „Abuse“, if the image is not corresponds to reality. Did not found suitable photo – use panorama from Yandex or Google.

Exterior (outside view)

Interior (inside view)


Access to hidden photos is only allowed to authorized users.


Videos of Eswatini taken from YouTube. Press on cover to start playing the video.

Comments reviews, questions and answers

Ask in chat