Saint Helena

Saint Helena is a volcanic tropical island in the South Atlantic Ocean, belonging to the United Kingdom. The island lies some 1,950 kilometres west of the coast of southwestern Africa, and a 4,000 kilometres east of Rio de Janeiro on the South American coast. It is part of the British Overseas Territory of Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha. Saint Helena measures about 16 by 8 kilometres and has a population of 4,534. It was named after Saint Helena of Constantinople. It is one of the most remote islands in the world and was uninhabited when discovered by the Portuguese in 1502. It was an important stopover for ships sailing to Europe from Asia and South Africa for centuries. Napoleon was imprisoned there in exile by the British, as was Dinuzulu kaCetshwayo for leading a Zulu army against British rule and more than 5,000 Boers taken prisoner during the Second Boer War, including Piet Cronjé. Saint Helena is Britain's second-oldest overseas territory after Bermuda.

Other countries and territories of the World

Geographical values

  • absolute in degrees, minutes and seconds:
    15° 55′ 51″ S • of southern latitude
    5° 42′ 42″ W • of western longitude
  • in degrees with decimal fractions:
    −15.930896°; −5.711668°

Length of Saint Helena from south to north is 3,633.554 kilometers, from west ot east – from 754.808 km on south to 984.482 km on north.

State symbols

Flag of Saint Helena
Flag of Saint Helena
Coat of arms, seal, symbol, emblem of Saint Helena
Coat of arms of Saint Helena

Guess country by flag and by coat of arms 🎲

Major cities


Comments reviews, questions and answers

Ask in chat