Pitcairn Islands

The Pitcairn Islands, officially Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands, are a group of four volcanic islands in the southern Pacific Ocean that form the sole British Overseas Territory in the Pacific Ocean. The four islands—Pitcairn proper, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno—are scattered across several hundred miles of ocean and have a combined land area of about 18 square miles. Henderson Island accounts for 86% of the land area, but only Pitcairn Island is inhabited. The nearest places are Mangareva of French Polynesia to the west and Easter Island to the east. Pitcairn is the least populous national jurisdiction in the world. The Pitcairn Islanders are a biracial ethnic group descended mostly from nine Bounty mutineers and the handful of Tahitians who accompanied them, an event that has been retold in many books and films. This history is still apparent in the surnames of many of the islanders. As of 2014, there were approximately 50 permanent inhabitants, originating from four main families.

Other countries and territories of the World

Geographical values

  • absolute in degrees, minutes and seconds:
    25° 4′ 1″ S • of southern latitude
    130° 6′ 5″ W • of western longitude
  • in degrees with decimal fractions:
    −25.067074°; −130.101502°

Length of Pitcairn Islands from south to north is 2.137 kilometers, from west ot east – 3.462 km.

State symbols

Flag of Pitcairn Islands
Flag of Pitcairn Islands
Coat of arms, seal, symbol, emblem of Pitcairn Islands
Coat of arms of Pitcairn Islands

Guess country by flag and by coat of arms 🎲

Major cities


Nearby photos

Photos of Pitcairn Islands taken from Google Maps. Press on icon for load all photos. Press „Abuse“, if the image is not corresponds to reality. Did not found suitable photo – use panorama from Yandex or Google.

Exterior (outside view)

Interior (inside view)

Comments reviews, questions and answers

Ask in chat