Nicaragua, officially the Republic of Nicaragua, is the largest country in the Central American isthmus. Nicaragua's capital, Managua, is the country's largest city and the third-largest city in Central America. The multi-ethnic population of six million includes indigenous peoples, Europeans, Africans, and Asians. The main language is Spanish. Native tribes on the eastern coast speak their own languages. The Spanish Empire conquered the region in the 16th century. Nicaragua gained independence from Spain in 1821. Since its independence, Nicaragua has undergone periods of political unrest, dictatorship, and fiscal crisis—the most notable causes that led to the Nicaraguan Revolution of the 1960s and 1970s. Nicaragua is a representative democratic republic.

Other countries and territories of the World

Geographical values

  • absolute in degrees, minutes and seconds:
    12° 8′ 41″ N • of northern latitude
    86° 16′ 13″ W • of western longitude
  • in degrees with decimal fractions:
    12.144833°; −86.270292°

Length of Nicaragua from south to north is 479.960 kilometers, from west ot east – from 579.981 km on south to 570.075 km on north.

State symbols

Flag of Nicaragua
Flag of Nicaragua
Coat of arms, seal, symbol, emblem of Nicaragua
Coat of arms of Nicaragua

Guess country by flag and by coat of arms 🎲

Major cities

Puerto Cabezas0690
San Carlos0296

Nearby photos

Photos of Nicaragua taken from Google Maps. Press on icon for load all photos. Press „Abuse“, if the image is not corresponds to reality. Did not found suitable photo – use panorama from Yandex or Google.

Exterior (outside view)

Interior (inside view)


Access to hidden photos is only allowed to authorized users.


Videos of Nicaragua taken from YouTube. Press on cover to start playing the video.

Comments reviews, questions and answers

Ask in chat