Namibia, officially the Republic of Namibia, is a country in southern Africa whose western border is the Atlantic Ocean. It shares land borders with Zambia and Angola to the north, Botswana to the east and South Africa to the south and east. Although it does not border Zimbabwe, a part of less than 200 metres of the Zambezi River separates the two countries. Namibia gained independence from South Africa on 21 March 1990, following the Namibian War of Independence. Its capital and largest city is Windhoek, and it is a member state of the United Nations, the Southern African Development Community, the African Union, and the Commonwealth of Nations.

Other countries and territories of the World

Geographical values

  • absolute in degrees, minutes and seconds:
    22° 34′ 2″ S • of southern latitude
    17° 5′ 15″ E • of eastern longitude
  • in degrees with decimal fractions:
    −22.567361°; 17.087421°

Length of Namibia from south to north is 1,334.896 kilometers, from west ot east – from 1,336.107 km on south to 1,460.804 km on north.

State symbols

Flag of Namibia
Flag of Namibia
Coat of arms, seal, symbol, emblem of Namibia
Coat of arms of Namibia

Guess country by flag and by coat of arms 🎲

Major cities

All 18 cities and settlements

Nearby photos

Photos of Namibia taken from Google Maps. Press on icon for load all photos. Press „Abuse“, if the image is not corresponds to reality. Did not found suitable photo – use panorama from Yandex or Google.

Exterior (outside view)

Interior (inside view)


Access to hidden photos is only allowed to authorized users.


Videos of Namibia taken from YouTube. Press on cover to start playing the video.

Comments reviews, questions and answers

Ask in chat