Mauritius, officially the Republic of Mauritius, is an island nation in the Indian Ocean about 2,000 kilometres off the southeast coast of the African continent. The country includes the island of Mauritius, Rodrigues, and the outer islands. The islands of Mauritius and Rodrigues form part of the Mascarene Islands, along with nearby Réunion, a French overseas department. The area of the country is 2,040 sq km. The capital and largest city is Port Louis. Mauritius was a British colonial possession from 1810 to 1968, the year of its independence. The government uses English as the main language.

Other countries and territories of the World

Geographical values

  • absolute in degrees, minutes and seconds:
    20° 9′ 54″ S • of southern latitude
    57° 29′ 57″ E • of eastern longitude
  • in degrees with decimal fractions:
    −20.165111°; 57.499266°

Length of Mauritius from south to north is 1,172.304 kilometers, from west ot east – from 756.555 km on south to 796.220 km on north.

State symbols

Flag of Mauritius
Flag of Mauritius
Coat of arms, seal, symbol, emblem of Mauritius
Coat of arms of Mauritius

Guess country by flag and by coat of arms 🎲

Major cities

Port Louis01.0K

Nearby photos

Photos of Mauritius taken from Google Maps. Press on icon for load all photos. Press „Abuse“, if the image is not corresponds to reality. Did not found suitable photo – use panorama from Yandex or Google.

Exterior (outside view)

Interior (inside view)


Access to hidden photos is only allowed to authorized users.


Videos of Mauritius taken from YouTube. Press on cover to start playing the video.

Comments reviews, questions and answers

Ask in chat