British Territory

The British Indian Ocean Territory or BIOT is a British overseas territory of the United Kingdom situated in the Indian Ocean halfway between Tanzania and Indonesia. The territory comprises the seven atolls of the Chagos Archipelago with over 1,000 individual islands – many very small – amounting to a total land area of 60 square kilometres. The largest and most southerly island is Diego Garcia, 27 sq km, the site of a joint military facility of the United Kingdom and the United States.

Other countries and territories of the World

Geographical values

  • absolute in degrees, minutes and seconds:
    7° 20′ 1″ S • of southern latitude
    72° 25′ 43″ E • of eastern longitude
  • in degrees with decimal fractions:
    −7.333650°; 72.428628°

Length of British Territory from south to north is 290.457 kilometers, from west ot east – from 175.884 km on south to 176.781 km on north.

State symbols

Flag of British Territory
Flag of British Territory
Coat of arms, seal, symbol, emblem of British Territory
Coat of arms of British Territory

Guess country by flag and by coat of arms 🎲

Major cities

Diego Garcia02.6K

Comments reviews, questions and answers

Ask in chat