Falkland Islands

The Falkland Islands is an archipelago in the South Atlantic Ocean on the Patagonian Shelf. The principal islands are about 300 miles east of South America's southern Patagonian coast, and about 752 miles from the northern tip of the Antarctic Peninsula, at a latitude of about 52°S. The archipelago, with an area of 4,700 square miles, comprises East Falkland, West Falkland and 776 smaller islands. As a British overseas territory, the Falklands have internal self-governance, and the United Kingdom takes responsibility for their defence and foreign affairs. The Falkland Islands' capital is Stanley on East Falkland.

Other countries and territories of the World

Geographical values

  • absolute in degrees, minutes and seconds:
    51° 41′ 50″ S • of southern latitude
    57° 50′ 34″ W • of western longitude
  • in degrees with decimal fractions:
    −51.697359°; −57.842719°

Length of Falkland Islands from south to north is 253.752 kilometers, from west ot east – from 260.420 km on south to 274.055 km on north.

State symbols

Flag of Falkland Islands
Flag of Falkland Islands
Coat of arms, seal, symbol, emblem of Falkland Islands
Coat of arms of Falkland Islands

Guess country by flag and by coat of arms 🎲

Major cities

Port Stephens01.5K

Nearby photos

Photos of Falkland Islands taken from Google Maps. Press on icon for load all photos. Press „Abuse“, if the image is not corresponds to reality. Did not found suitable photo – use panorama from Yandex or Google.

Exterior (outside view)

Comments reviews, questions and answers

Ask in chat