Fiji, officially the Republic of Fiji is an island country in Melanesia, part of Oceania in the South Pacific Ocean about 1,100 nautical miles northeast of New Zealand's North Island. Its closest neighbours are Vanuatu to the west, New Caledonia to the southwest, New Zealand's Kermadec Islands to the southeast, Tonga to the east, the Samoas and France's Wallis and Futuna to the northeast, and Tuvalu to the north. Fiji consists of an archipelago of more than 330 islands—of which 110 are permanently inhabited—and more than 500 islets, amounting to a total land area of about 18,300 square kilometres. The most outlying island is Ono-i-Lau. The two major islands, Viti Levu and Vanua Levu, account for 87% of the total population of 883,483. The capital, Suva, on Viti Levu, serves as the country's principal cruise-ship port. About three-quarters of Fijians live on Viti Levu's coasts, either in Suva or in smaller urban centres such as Nadi—where tourism is the major local industry—or Lautoka, where the sugar-cane industry is paramount. Due to its terrain, the interior of Viti Levu is sparsely inhabited.

Other countries and territories of the World

Geographical values

  • absolute in degrees, minutes and seconds:
    18° 6′ 21″ S • of southern latitude
    178° 27′ 57″ E • of eastern longitude
  • in degrees with decimal fractions:
    −18.105724°; 178.465746°

Length of Fiji from south to north is 12.988 kilometers, from west ot east – from 11.276 km on south to 11.283 km on north.

State symbols

Flag of Fiji
Flag of Fiji
Coat of arms, seal, symbol, emblem of Fiji
Coat of arms of Fiji

Guess country by flag and by coat of arms 🎲

Major cities

Pacific Harbour01.8K

Comments reviews, questions and answers

Ask in chat