Ethiopia, officially known as the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia, is a sovereign state located in the Horn of Africa. It shares a border with Eritrea to the north and northeast, Djibouti and Somalia to the east, Sudan and South Sudan to the west, and Kenya to the south. With nearly 100 million inhabitants, Ethiopia is the most populous landlocked country in the world, as well as the second-most populous nation on the African continent after Nigeria. It occupies a total area of 1,100,000 square kilometres, and its capital and largest city is Addis Ababa.

Other countries and territories of the World

Geographical values

  • absolute in degrees, minutes and seconds:
    9° 2′ 7″ N • of northern latitude
    38° 45′ 6″ E • of eastern longitude
  • in degrees with decimal fractions:
    9.035264°; 38.751606°

Length of Ethiopia from south to north is 1,279.751 kilometers, from west ot east – from 1,666.504 km on south to 1,613.179 km on north.

State symbols

Flag of Ethiopia
Flag of Ethiopia
Coat of arms, seal, symbol, emblem of Ethiopia
Coat of arms of Ethiopia

Guess country by flag and by coat of arms 🎲

Major cities

Addis Ababa04.1K
Bahir Dar0999
Arba Minch0866

All 16 cities and settlements

Nearby photos

Photos of Ethiopia taken from Google Maps. Press on icon for load all photos. Press „Abuse“, if the image is not corresponds to reality. Did not found suitable photo – use panorama from Yandex or Google.

Exterior (outside view)

Interior (inside view)

Comments reviews, questions and answers

Ask in chat