Ecuador, officially the Republic of Ecuador, is a representative democratic republic in northwestern South America, bordered by Colombia on the north, Peru on the east and south, and the Pacific Ocean to the west. Ecuador also includes the Galápagos Islands in the Pacific, about 1,000 kilometres west of the mainland. What is now Ecuador was home to a variety of Amerindian groups that were gradually incorporated into the Inca Empire during the 15th century. The territory was colonized by Spain during the 16th century, achieving independence in 1820 as part of Gran Colombia, from which it emerged as its own sovereign state in 1830. The legacy of both empires is reflected in Ecuador's ethnically diverse population, with most of its 15.2 million people being mestizos, followed by large minorities of European, Amerindian, and African descendants.

Other countries and territories of the World

Geographical values

  • absolute in degrees, minutes and seconds:
    0° 13′ 9″ S • of southern latitude
    78° 30′ 35″ W • of western longitude
  • in degrees with decimal fractions:
    −0.219273°; −78.509746°

Length of Ecuador from south to north is 766.797 kilometers, from west ot east – from 1,876.672 km on south to 1,882.800 km on north.

State symbols

Flag of Ecuador
Flag of Ecuador
Coat of arms, seal, symbol, emblem of Ecuador
Coat of arms of Ecuador

Guess country by flag and by coat of arms 🎲

Major cities

Santo Domingo01.5K
Santa Elena0787

All 26 cities and settlements

Nearby photos

Photos of Ecuador taken from Google Maps. Press on icon for load all photos. Press „Abuse“, if the image is not corresponds to reality. Did not found suitable photo – use panorama from Yandex or Google.

Exterior (outside view)

Interior (inside view)


Access to hidden photos is only allowed to authorized users.

Comments reviews, questions and answers

Ask in chat