The Dominican Republic is a sovereign state occupying the eastern two-thirds of the island of Hispaniola, in the Greater Antilles archipelago in the Caribbean region. The western one-third of the island is occupied by the nation of Haiti, making Hispaniola one of two Caribbean islands, along with Saint Martin, that are shared by two countries. The Dominican Republic is the second-largest Caribbean nation by area at 48,445 square kilometres, and 3rd by population with 10.08 million people, of which approximately three million live in the metropolitan area of Santo Domingo, the capital city.

Other countries and territories of the World

Geographical values

  • absolute in degrees, minutes and seconds:
    18° 28′ 45″ N • of northern latitude
    69° 55′ 11″ W • of western longitude
  • in degrees with decimal fractions:
    18.479041°; −69.919786°

Length of Dominicana from south to north is 294.478 kilometers, from west ot east – from 408.900 km on south to 402.526 km on north.

State symbols

Flag of Dominicana
Flag of Dominicana
Coat of arms, seal, symbol, emblem of Dominicana
Coat of arms of Dominicana

Guess country by flag and by coat of arms 🎲

Major cities

All 23 cities

Nearby photos

Photos of Dominicana taken from Google Maps. Press on icon for load all photos. Press „Abuse“, if the image is not corresponds to reality. Did not found suitable photo – use panorama from Yandex or Google.

Exterior (outside view)

Interior (inside view)


Access to hidden photos is only allowed to authorized users.


Videos of Dominicana taken from YouTube. Press on cover to start playing the video.

Comments reviews, questions and answers

Ask in chat