Dominica, officially the Commonwealth of Dominica, is a sovereign island country. The capital, Roseau, is located on the leeward side of the island. It is part of the Windward islands in the Lesser Antilles archipelago of the Caribbean Sea. The island lies south-southeast of Guadeloupe and northwest of Martinique. Its area is 750 square kilometres and the highest point is Morne Diablotins, at 1,447 metres elevation. The population was 72,301 at the 2014 census. The island was originally inhabited by the Kalinago and later colonised by the Europeans, predominately by the French from the 1690s, who arrived long after Columbus passed the island on Sunday, 3 November 1493; the island's name is derived from the Latin for "Sunday". Great Britain took it over in 1763 after the Seven Years' War and gradually established English as the official language. The island republic gained independence in 1978.

Other countries and territories of the World

Geographical values

  • absolute in degrees, minutes and seconds:
    15° 19′ 21″ N • of northern latitude
    61° 22′ 4″ W • of western longitude
  • in degrees with decimal fractions:
    15.322416°; −61.367717°

Length of Dominica from south to north is 84.033 kilometers, from west ot east – from 63.945 km on south to 63.713 km on north.

State symbols

Flag of Dominica
Flag of Dominica
Coat of arms, seal, symbol, emblem of Dominica
Coat of arms of Dominica

Guess country by flag and by coat of arms 🎲

Major cities


Nearby photos

Photos of Dominica taken from Google Maps. Press on icon for load all photos. Press „Abuse“, if the image is not corresponds to reality. Did not found suitable photo – use panorama from Yandex or Google.

Exterior (outside view)

Interior (inside view)


Access to hidden photos is only allowed to authorized users.


Videos of Dominica taken from YouTube. Press on cover to start playing the video.

Comments reviews, questions and answers

Ask in chat