Benin, officially the Republic of Benin and formerly Dahomey, is a country in West Africa. It is bordered by Togo to the west, Nigeria to the east, and Burkina Faso and Niger to the north. A majority of the population live on its small southern coastline on the Bight of Benin, part of the Gulf of Guinea in the northernmost tropical portion of the Atlantic Ocean. The capital of Benin is Porto-Novo, but the seat of government is in Cotonou, the country's largest city and economic capital. Benin covers an area of 114,763 square kilometers and its population in 2015 was estimated to be approximately 10.88 million. Benin is a tropical, sub-Saharan nation, highly dependent on agriculture, with substantial employment and income arising from subsistence farming.

Other countries and territories of the World

Geographical values

  • absolute in degrees, minutes and seconds:
    6° 28′ 31″ N • of northern latitude
    2° 37′ 56″ E • of eastern longitude
  • in degrees with decimal fractions:
    6.475173°; 2.632190°

Length of Benin from south to north is 711.979 kilometers, from west ot east – from 340.652 km on south to 334.516 km on north.

State symbols

Flag of Benin
Flag of Benin
Coat of arms, seal, symbol, emblem of Benin
Coat of arms of Benin

Guess country by flag and by coat of arms 🎲

Logic puzzle


Major cities


Nearby photos

Photos of Benin taken from Google Maps. Press on icon for load all photos. Press „Abuse“, if the image is not corresponds to reality. Did not found suitable photo – use panorama from Yandex or Google.

Exterior (outside view)

Interior (inside view)


Access to hidden photos is only allowed to authorized users.


Videos of Benin taken from YouTube. Press on cover to start playing the video.

Comments reviews, questions and answers

Ask in chat