Burundi, officially the Republic of Burundi, is a landlocked country in the African Great Lakes region of East Africa, bordered by Rwanda to the north, Tanzania to the east and south, and the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the west. It is also considered part of Central Africa. Burundi's capital is Bujumbura. The southwestern border is adjacent to Lake Tanganyika. The Twa, Hutu and Tutsi peoples have lived in Burundi for at least 500 years. For more than 200 of those years, Burundi was an independent kingdom, until the beginning of the twentieth century, when Germany colonised the region. After the First World War and Germany's defeat, it ceded the territory to Belgium. Both Germans and Belgians ruled Burundi and Rwanda as a European colony known as Ruanda-Urundi. Despite common misconceptions, Burundi and Rwanda had never been under common rule until the time of European colonisation.

Other countries and territories of the World

Geographical values

  • absolute in degrees, minutes and seconds:
    3° 25′ 45″ S • of southern latitude
    29° 55′ 41″ E • of eastern longitude
  • in degrees with decimal fractions:
    −3.429219°; 29.928056°

Length of Burundi from south to north is 239.436 kilometers, from west ot east – from 205.827 km on south to 206.285 km on north.

State symbols

Flag of Burundi
Flag of Burundi
Coat of arms, seal, symbol, emblem of Burundi
Coat of arms of Burundi

Guess country by flag and by coat of arms 🎲

Major cities


Nearby photos

Photos of Burundi taken from Google Maps. Press on icon for load all photos. Press „Abuse“, if the image is not corresponds to reality. Did not found suitable photo – use panorama from Yandex or Google.

Exterior (outside view)

Interior (inside view)


Access to hidden photos is only allowed to authorized users.


Videos of Burundi taken from YouTube. Press on cover to start playing the video.

Comments reviews, questions and answers

Ask in chat